Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

SOE announces new G.I.R.L. scholarship

Tue 01 Mar 2011 9:42am GMT / 4:42am EST / 1:42am PST
Education

Sony encourages female developers in $10k education promotion

Sony Online Entertainment (SOE) has begun accepting applications for its fourth annual Gamers In Real Life (G.I.R.L.) scholarship in the U.S.

The selected student will win $10,000 (6,100) toward tuition fees and educational expenses and a paid internship of up to 10 weeks at one of SOE's development studios (not including room, board, transportation and living expenses not included).

"The most recent industry studies show that although a large percentage of the game playing population is female, they make up only about one in every 10 game developers," said Laura Naviaux, vice president of global sales and marketing at SOE.

"For the fourth year in a row, SOE is committed to encouraging women to pursue an exciting and rewarding career of developing fun and innovative games for everyone," she added.

The scheme is being organised in co-operation with non-profit, private sector body Scholarship America. To be eligible, entrants must be currently enrolled in an undergraduate program related to video games and due to graduate no earlier than the spring term of 2012.

Further information can be found at SOE's website, with submissions - including two pieces of original concept art and one essay - due to be submitted by 6 April. The winner will be announced in mid-May.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now