Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Google pulls Kongregate Arcade from Android Market

Wed 19 Jan 2011 8:36am GMT / 3:36am EST / 12:36am PST
Mobile

GameStop's mobile Flash game hub removed "for unknown reasons"

Hours after yesterday's release of GameStop's Android app Kongregate Arcade, Google has apparently pulled the free game hub from its own Market.

In a statement, GameStop claimed that "Tens of thousands of users successfully downloaded the new app but, due to unknown reasons, Google has pulled it from the Market."

The Arcade allowed direct access to around 300 free Flash games on the Kongregate service, essentially acting as a secondary app discovery service.

Google has previously claimed that the open nature of Android means it will not seek to block other app stores, such as Amazon's impending alternative, from appearing on the platform.

Kongregate is currently "working with Google to restore access in the Market", but in the meantime it remains available for manual installation. GamesIndustry.biz is seeking clarification on the matter.

3 Comments

Kingman Cheng Illustrator and Animator

954 183 0.2
Huh? I didn't even know there was a kongregate app, if I knew I would have downloaded it!

How strange of them to do so though..

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Pawel Pieciak Contract Programmer, SEGA Hardlight

8 1 0.1
I suspect security issues with user's personal data.

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Patrick Williams Medicine and Research

93 61 0.7
According to an interview on Joystiq, its because Google sees the program as an app to distribute apps and they don't approve of that.

Posted:3 years ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now