Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

US game sales up 8% after seven month decline

Fri 10 Dec 2010 7:49am GMT / 2:49am EST / 11:49pm PST
Retail

Kinect, Black Ops, DS and Xbox 360 reverse slump; music genre bounces back 38 per cent

Sales of boxed software, hardware and accessories were up during November in the US by 8 per cent, the first rise in the market for seven months.

The market generated $2.99 billion in revenues, up from $2.76 billion for the same month last year. Year to date sales are $14.73 billion, 5 per cent down on 2009.

Microsoft's Xbox 360 sold 1.37 million units during the month, up 68 per cent, while Bloomberg reports the PlayStation 3 sold 530,000 units, down 25 per cent on last year.

Nintendo's Wii sales were up marginally at less than 1 per cent to 1.27 million units, and the DS family of consoles moved 1.5 million units. Overall hardware sales were up 2 per cent during November, pulling in revenues of $1.08 billion.

Software was up 3 per cent for the month, with Activision's Call of Duty: Black Ops dominating sales and shifting 8.4 million units - one in four of every new boxed game sold.

Ubisoft also scored hits with Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood and Just Dance 2 ranking second and third for the month. NPD also noted that the music genre was up 38 per cent due to sales of Just Dance and Dance Central.

Microsoft's Kinect helped push peripheral sales up a massive 69 per cent according to NPD, and with less than a month on sale has already become the best-selling accessory of the year.

The best selling US games for November follow:

  • 01 Call of Duty: Black Ops
  • 02 Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood
  • 03 Just Dance 2
  • 04 Madden NFL 11
  • 05 Fable III
  • 06 Donkey Kong Country Returns
  • 07 Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit
  • 08 Gran Turismo 5
  • 09 NBA 2K11
  • 10 Wii Fit Plus

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now