Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

DeNA probed in anti-monopoly investigation

Wed 08 Dec 2010 12:25pm GMT / 7:25am EST / 4:25am PST
Mobile

Japanese social firm accused of blocking developers from using rival services

Social and mobile giant DeNA is being investigated by Japan's Fair Trade Commission over anti-competitive practices.

According to the Japan Times DeNA has tried to stop developers from providing games and content to rival company Gree, and also blocked users of its Mobage-town network from accessing content developed for titles on Gree's alternative service.

The FTC is alleging these unfair practices have violated anti-monopoly laws in the region.

DeNA intends to launch a version of Mobage-town in the US and Europe with recent acquisition Ngmoco, with a roll-out expected next year. Mobage-town has over 20 million users in Japan.

1 Comment

Hurple
CEO

9 0 0.0
Notwithstanding whether this real or not, DeNA have made themselves a global joke for what they paid for ngmoco - given that the next offer was $250m LESS. Allegedly.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now