Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Zynga acquires Words with Friends developer Newtoy

Fri 03 Dec 2010 8:27am GMT / 3:27am EST / 12:27am PST
OnlineDevelopment

Social firm snaps up iOS developer and renames studio Zynga With Friends

Social gaming firm Zynga has acquired Words with Friends developer Newyoy, renaming the team Zynga With Friends.

Co-founder of Newtoy Paul Bettner will assume the role of vice president and general manager of Zynga With Friends.

"The Games With Friends franchise is the best social game experience available on mobile today and we are excited to welcome the Newtoy team to the Zynga family," said Mark Pincus, founder and CEO of Zynga.

"The Zynga With Friends Studio will continue to invent great mobile social game experiences for Zynga users everywhere."

Newtoy was founded in 2008 by Paul and David Bettner, and Michael Chow, chief operating officer. The company produces the With Friends franchise for the iPad, iPhone and iPod Touch. The Bettner brothers previously worked with Microsoft on Age of Empires and Halo Wars.

"We're reinventing the way people are social on their mobile devices," said Paul Bettner, VP and GM of The Zynga With Friends Studio. "The Zynga With Friends Studio will build on the Newtoy legacy of creating approachable, highly social games that are accessible to anyone from anywhere."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now