Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Social sports dev Lionside attracts $1.6m funding

Tue 30 Nov 2010 8:31am GMT / 3:31am EST / 12:31am PST
BusinessDevelopment

Studio formerly known as Popside is headed up by ex-EA VP

San Francisco start-up Lionside is to receive $1,595,000 in first round funding, SEC documents have revealed.

The studio was founded last year, then known as Popside, and focuses on sports games for social networks. Its only release to date, Lionside Football for Facebook, has attracted around 308,000 MUAs since its launch in September.

Lionside, which also boasts London and Indonesian offices, is lead by former VP of Sports, Entertainment and Lifestyle Marketing at EA, Doug Scott. Also present is Zynga's one time marketing VP Brandon Barber.

Backing Lionside are angel investor Ron Conway and Sherpalo Ventures' Ram Shiram, which Lionside refers to as "two of Silicon Valley's most iconic technology investors."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now