Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Top game sales flat as Call of Duty holds number one spot

Tue 16 Dec 2008 8:27am GMT / 3:27am EST / 12:27am PST
Retail

But big sales leap for titles out of top ten including LittleBigPlanet, Sonic Unleashed and Quantum of Solace

Sales of the top six videogames in the UK have remained flat in the run up to Christmas, as Activision's Call of Duty: World at War holds the number one spot for the fifth week running.

Sales of the latest shooter are only up two per cent compared to last week, while the number two game, Nintendo's Mario Kart Wii, saw sales rise one per cent. There is a gap of 27,000 units between the two releases.

Outside of the top ten a number of titles have seen a massive jump in sales due to discounting and bundles, including LEGO Indiana Jones which increased by 31 per cent and climbed from 13 to 11.

Sega's Sonic Unleashed leapt from 33 to number 12 with sales up 87 per cent, Bond tie-in Quantum of Solace increased 53 per cent from 27 to 13, and Sony's LittleBigPlanet climbed from 29 to 16, with sales up 58 per cent.

  • 01 Call of Duty: World at War
  • 02 Mario Kart Wii
  • 03 FIFA 09
  • 04 Need for Speed: Undercover
  • 05 Dr Kawashima's Brain Training
  • 06 Fallout 3
  • 07 Wii Play
  • 08 Wii Fit
  • 09 Guitar Hero: World War
  • 10 Tomb Raider: Underworld

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now