Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Sony revises full year profit forecast

Mon 10 May 2010 2:46pm GMT / 10:46am EDT / 7:46am PDT
Finance

Company swings from operating loss to income following severe cost-cutting

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony has released a revised forecast ahead of the reporting of its full year financials this Thursday.

According to the company, it expects to have generated operating profit of ¥32 billion (£229m / $343m) over the year, a sum much improved on February's forecast of a ¥30 billion loss (£215m / $321m).

The company's sales and operating revenue predictions were down slightly on February's estimate overall however by one per cent from ¥7.3 trillion ($78.5bn / £52.4bn).

Its games business was mentioned briefly in the statement, with Sony saying:

"Within the Networked Products & Services segment, operating results are expected to exceed the February forecast by approximately 10 billion yen (£71m / $107m) mainly due to improved performance within the game business and VAIO PCs as a result of better than anticipated reductions in both operating expenses and manufacturing cost."

Sony's Q3 financials showed a boosted operating profit of ¥19.4 billion (£134m / $213 million), an improvement of ¥25.3 (£125m / $277m) billion year on year.

However, profitability of the games business specifically was relatively unchanged, with cheaper hardware manufacturing costs for the PlayStation 3 offset by declining PS2 and PSP sales.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now