Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

US Xbox 360 sales up 25 per cent in March

Thu 16 Apr 2009 10:33pm GMT / 6:33pm EDT / 3:33pm PDT
Retail

330,000 units sold, console shows growth for sixth straight month

Microsoft has responded early to this month's NPD sales results, revealing that the Xbox 360 sold 330,000 units in March of 2009, up 25 per cent from the same period in 2008.

Additionally, Microsoft revealed that the number of unique users purchasing content through Xbox Live rose 128 per cent over last year's numbers, which Microsoft credits to the success of game add-ons that include Fallout 3 expansion The Pitt and feature film The Dark Knight.

"Xbox 360 was the only game console to show year-over-year growth in the US as the USD 199 starting price continued to resonate with consumers looking to get more entertainment value for their money," Microsoft said in a statement.

"Retail sales of Xbox 360 systems hit 330,000 units in March, climbing 25 percent from a year earlier, in contrast to double-digit declines posted by Wii and PlayStation 3. March was the sixth month in a row that Xbox 360 has seen year-over-year sales growth."

Microsoft also revealed, prior to the NPD's official announcement, that three of the top ten console games in March were Xbox 360 titles, including Resident Evil 5, Halo Wars and MLB 2K09.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now