Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Microsoft officially ends HD-DVD production

Mon 25 Feb 2008 11:03am GMT / 6:03am EST / 3:03am PST

Microsoft has officially canned its HD-DVD peripheral, but will continue to offer product and warranty support to those that have bought the Xbox 360 movie player.

Microsoft has officially canned its HD-DVD peripheral, but will continue to offer product and warranty support to those that have bought the Xbox 360 movie player.

Toshiba officially announced the discontinuation of its HD-DVD business last week, following decisions by leading retailers and movie companies to back the rival Blu-ray format.

"As a result of recent decisions made by Toshiba, Hollywood studios, and retailers, Microsoft plans to withdraw from HD-DVD," read the Microsoft statement.

"Xbox will no longer manufacture new HD-DVD players for the Xbox 360, but we will continue to provide standard product and warranty support for all Xbox 360 HD-DVD players in the market."

"As we stated earlier, we do not believe this decision will have any material impact on the Xbox 360 platform or our position in the marketplace," the statement continued.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now