Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Call of Duty franchise passes $3 billion

Fri 27 Nov 2009 1:26pm GMT / 8:26am EST / 5:26am PST
RetailPublishing

Activision's "greatest" shooter series has now sold over 55 million units worldwide

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Stellar sales of Modern Warfare 2 have helped Activision to nudge its Call of Duty franchise through the USD 3 billion revenues mark, the publisher has announced.

According to a statement released today, the six titles in the series have now sold over 55 million units between them, with the latest instalment smashing entertainment launch records and taking USD 550 million in its first five days on sale.

The data, based on estimates from The NPD Group, GfK Chart-Track and internal information has made it one of the "greatest entertainment franchises of all time," said Activision Blizzard CEO Robert Kotick.

"If you consider the number of hours our audiences are engaged in playing Call of Duty games, it is likely to be one of the most viewed of all entertainment experiences in modern history," he added.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now