Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Brash signs development deal with Factor 5

Thu 13 Mar 2008 3:29pm GMT / 11:29am EDT / 8:29am PDT

Brash Entertainment has announced a multiiple game development deal with Factor 5

Brash Entertainment has announced a multiiple game development deal with Factor 5.

Under the terms of the agreement, the two companies plan to collaborate on an as-yet-unnamed title scheduled for a 2010 release.

"Typically, there are two issues developers have with making a licensed game," said Factor 5 president and co-founder Julian Eggebrecht.

"First, they tend to have shorter development cycles. Second, there are often very tight constraints on how you can portray the world of the IP, its characters and story. The resulting lack of creative freedom can be very frustrating - especially when it's a world you are excited to explore.

"But collaborating with Brash is much different, we're already working on a title that is more than two years out, and because the filmmaker is a game fan who is really excited about how we want to expand on the story of the film, we've been given a lot of latitude. It's been really fun to dig deep into this universe."

Factor 5 was the developer behind the StarWars: Rogue Squadron franchise as well as Indiana Jones, Contra: The Alien Wars, Lair and Turrican.

"Factor 5 has a solid track record in creating licensed games that, in combination with their technology expertise, makes them an ideal partner," said Brash CEO Mitch Davis.

"But what really cemented the collaboration was their passion for the IP and the world in which the game will live. Because that's when you are going to get really good games - when the people who are making it are really enjoying the process."

More details on the collaboration are expected to be anounced in July during E3.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now