Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Blacksite dev admits to rushed product

Thu 29 Nov 2007 12:32pm GMT / 7:32am EST / 4:32am PST

Midway's Harvey Smith has admitted that relatively low review scores for Blacksite are "no surprise", admitting to various problems during development.

Midway's Harvey Smith has admitted that relatively low review scores for Blacksite: Area 51 are "no surprise", admitting to various problems during development.

Speaking at the Montreal International Game Summit 2007, Smith pulled no punches: "This project was so f*cked up," reports Wired.

Smith said that he wasn't all that enamoured with the Area 51 property when he first came onboard, but a rush to completion became a bigger problem as development went on.

"It took eight months to get one thing working," he said. "With a year to go, the game was disastrously off rails." It even "went straight from alpha to final," leaving virtually no time to spend play-testing the game.

Asked why he was being so honest about all this - and his belief that they "deserved" a critical hammering - Smith said: "I believe in personal accountability."

The comments won't please publisher Midway. Area 51: Blacksite is due out on PC and Xbox 360 tomorrow in Europe, with a PS3 release also on the way.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now