Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Activision shareholders approve Vivendi merger

Tue 08 Jul 2008 7:59pm GMT / 3:59pm EDT / 12:59pm PDT
Publishing

Activision Blizzard deal completes paving the way for the world's largest videogame publisher

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

Activision has announced that its shareholders have approved the merger with Vivendi games.

More than 92 per cent of the shareholders voted in favour at a special meeting held today, and the merger is expected to be complete tomorrow, July 9.

On completion, Vivendi Games will become a wholly-owned subsidiary of Activision, and Vivendi will receive approximately 295.3 million newly issued shares of Activision common stock.

In turn, Vivendi will purchase approximately 62.9 million newly issued shares of Activision common stock at USD 27.50 per share, totalling approximately USD 1.7 billion in cash. Vivendi will then own approximately 52 per cent of the newly formed company, Activision Blizzard.

The merger was first announced back in December.

The company know boasts a portfolio bursting with some of the strongest franchises in videogames including World of Warcraft, StarCraft, Diablo, Guitar Hero, Call of Duty and Tony Hawk.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now