Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Layoffs at EA Salt Lake

Layoffs at EA Salt Lake

Thu 30 Jan 2014 7:58pm GMT / 2:58pm EST / 11:58am PST
Jobs

Multiple teams cut as studio moves focus to mobile development

Electronic Arts has confirmed a round of layoffs at its EA Salt Lake development studio, as reported by Game Informer.

"EA Salt Lake is becoming largely focused on mobile development, including The Sims and other projects," a representative said. "Recent shifts unfortunately resulted in the reduction of a few teams. As we look to match skills with opportunities, some staff will be offered other positions at EA, while others will leave the company."

In recent years, EA Salt Lake developed a number of projects on The Sims franchise, as well as the multiplatform game Risk: Factions. EA's official site lists the pre-layoff headcount of the studio at over 100 developers.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now