Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Valve paid $10.2m to TF2, DotA item creators in 2013

Valve paid $10.2m to TF2, DotA item creators in 2013

Fri 17 Jan 2014 9:32am GMT / 4:32am EST / 1:32am PST
Developer Tools

Contributors earned average of $15k each, or $4,348 per item

Valve has shown off new figures representing the scale of its DotA and Team Fortress 2 contributor payouts, highlighting an incredible $10,215,796 worth of payments to just 661 creators over the course of 2013.

That translates to an average earning of over $15,000 for each contributor, or around $4,300 for each of the 2,349 items produced by the community,reports The Verge.

Whilst there's bound to be some variance in the weighting of those payments, Valve seems confident that there's a fairly wide spread of revenues across the userbase. Their productivity and success cannot be questioned - Valve also revealed that over 90 per cent of Team Fortress 2 items are now fan-made, with over 500 million items having been sold to players.

1 Comment

Edward Buffery
Pre-production Manager

149 96 0.6
That is actually pretty awesome :)

Posted:8 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now