Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Peggle 2 no longer available at Xbox One launch

Peggle 2 no longer available at Xbox One launch

Mon 04 Nov 2013 9:35am GMT / 4:35am EST / 1:35am PST
PublishingDevelopment

PopCap "mischaracterised" time of its release, will hit Xbox Live in time for Christmas

Popcap's Peggle 2 is the latest game to slip from a launch day release on the new generation of consoles.

Peggle 2 was intended to be a launch title for Xbox One, but PopCap has confirmed that it will no longer make the November 22 deadline.

In a comment issued to GamesBeat, PopCap's senior director of PR, Garth Chouteau, said, "Peggle 2 is a 'launch timeframe' title. but [it] will not launch day-and-date with the Xbox One. Instead, it will become available a few weeks later in December."

Microsoft announced Peggle 2 as an Xbox One launch title at Gamescom in August - as a post on the Xbox blog clearly indicates. However, PopCap now insists that it was never the case, with Chouteau admitting that it may have "mischaracterised" the timing of the game's release.

In the last month, several next generation launch-day titles have slipped, most prominently Sony's PS4 exclusive Drivecluband Ubisoft's eagerly awaited multiplatform title, Watch Dogs. Indeed, the Watch Dogs delay was so keenly felt it directly contributed to a 20 per cent slump in Ubisoft's stock value.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now