Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Capcom's nine-month revenue grows despite uneven sales

Capcom's nine-month revenue grows despite uneven sales

Mon 04 Feb 2013 9:35am GMT / 4:35am EST / 1:35am PST
PublishingDevelopment

Resident Evil 6 loses momentum, Devil May Cry shipping estimates lowered

Capcom posted revenue and profit growth for the first nine months of the financial year, although sales of Resident Evil 6 and DmC failed to meet expectations.

For the nine-month period ended December 31 2012, Capcom reported revenues of 72.6 billion ($780m/495.9m), up 44.6 per cent from the same period a year ago. Net profits also showed strong growth, up 105 per cent to 6.6 billion ($70.9m/45.1m).

The company's digital contents business - which comprises its console, PC, mobile and social games - generated 49.7 billion ($533.9m/339.4m) of that revenue, an increase of 39.2 per cent year-on-year.

However, the company noted its disappointment with the sales of Resident Evil 6, which "lost momentum" after a strong start and failed to, "fulfil its role as a driver of sales expansion." Resident Evil 6 sold 1.1 million units in the third quarter of the financial year.

Capcom shipped 1 million units of Ninja Theory's DmC: Devil May Cry in January, though the company has lost faith in its ability to sustain that momentum. Capcom initially expected the game to ship 2 million units by March 31, but that estimate has been lowered to 1.2 million units.

1 Comment

Perhaps the Game Industry is not in good health as some would like to think (I personally believe it has not been healthy at all for at least half a decade).

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now