Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Verizon integrates ESRB ratings into Verizon Apps store

Verizon integrates ESRB ratings into Verizon Apps store

Wed 15 Aug 2012 3:59am GMT / 11:59pm EDT / 8:59pm PDT

The CTIA mobile rating system helps parents choose the right apps

Verizon Wireless has announced that it will integrate the CTIA Mobile Application Rating System within the Verizon Apps store. The CTIA Rating System uses the Entertainment Software Rating Board's expertise and familiar ratings.

"It is important that parents and consumers are informed about the content in applications, so we are proud to implement a rating system that uses the ESRB categories, whose ratings consumers know and trust," said Jack McArtney, director of corporate and community responsibility at Verizon. "We understand how difficult it can be to tell which apps are appropriate for children, and the rating system represents the first step to help parents and caregivers ensure apps available within the Verizon Apps store are being used by the appropriate audience."

"Not all apps are meant for all ages. Our ratings exist to empower parents with the ability to make informed decisions about which ones are right for their child," added ESRB President Patricia Vance. "We are very pleased that Verizon has embraced our ratings, providing consumers a consistent, reliable standard by which to manage their children's access to content and ensure their experience is age-appropriate."

The rating system was announced by CTIA and ESRB in November of last year, but the Verizon Apps store is the first one to have ratings applied to all apps, including legacy apps.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now