Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Skullgirls hits 50K milestone in 10 days

Skullgirls hits 50K milestone in 10 days

Fri 27 Apr 2012 7:30am GMT / 3:30am EDT / 12:30am PDT
Online

2D fighter exceeds expectations, despite still awaiting EU PSN release

2D indie fighting title Skullgirls, from Reverge, has racked up over 50,000 sales in its first ten days on sale, despite only seeing a partial release in the EU.

Whilst the game is available worldwide on XBLA, European PlayStation owners are not yet able to buy it from the PSN, making thefigure all the more remarkable.

It's the latest in a string of niche digital titles to exceed sales expectations, with PC exclusive Esther, a horror fiction piece from Thechineseroom backed by indie funding, also hitting 50,000 sales in a week in February.

More recently, Red Lynx Trials Evolution, published by studio owners Ubisoft, sold 100,000 copies in just one day, overloading the game's online servers.

Skullgirls will appear on the EU PSN store next week.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now