Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Cataclysm to launch in China next month

Wed 22 Jun 2011 7:52am GMT / 3:52am EDT / 12:52am PDT
OnlinePublishing

NetEase improving release times for World of Warcraft expansions

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Seven months after its Western release, World Of Warcraft expansion Cataclysm will be released in mainland China on July 12.

"We've always appreciated Chinese gamers' passion and support for World of Warcraft, and we're excited that they'll soon be able to enjoy all of the great new content this expansion has to offer," commented Mike Morhaime, CEO of Blizzard Entertainment.

The late release is an improvement on previous expansion packs, with The Burning Crusade launching eight months after the West and The Wrath of Lich King, which was rejected twice by the Chinese government, released 23 months after the West.

At the time Blizzard credited the Chinese release of The Wrath of Lich King, with helping to push player numbers above 12 million.

World of Warcraft has had a troubled history in China, facing objections from China's General Administration of Press and Publication, and moving operators from The9 to NetEase.

1 Comment

Michael Harrell Studying CS, University of Utah

3 1 0.3
In case anyone is wondering, the reason Wrath of the Lich King took so long to get approved is that in China there's a rule that there cannot be any zombies/undead/walking skeletons. Since Wrath was about an undead uprising, pretty much everything had to be covered up with skin/armor.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now