Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Kwari shuts down

Tue 03 Jun 2008 2:17pm GMT / 10:17am EDT / 7:17am PDT
BusinessOnline

The skill-based online competition site is the latest attempt to engage the market to close

Kwari, the skill-based online site that was set to launch at the beginning of this year, has gone into receivership.

The project, which had aimed to provide gamers with a free-to-play first-person shooter game in which contestants would wager on the outcome of matches using microtransactions, failed to spark as a successful business model.

The company had intended to make money by charging for the purchase of in-game ammunition, with players taking any winnings made on the match bets and other jackpots available.

A GamesIndustry.biz interview from December last year with the company's marketing manager, Al King, explaining in more detail the planned business model is available here.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now