Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

The Last of Us sells 6 million copies

The Last of Us sells 6 million copies

Fri 14 Mar 2014 6:13pm GMT / 2:13pm EDT / 11:13am PDT
Retail

Naughty Dog's award-winning title continues to rack up sales for the PS3

In a post on the PlayStation blog in which Naughty Dog reminded Game Developers Conference attendees that it's giving a few talks at the show, the developer happily disclosed that The Last of Us has now sold over six million copies worldwide. We're assuming that means sold-through, not shipped, but we've pinged SCEA for clarification.

The Last of Us dominated the DICE Awards, taking home 10 awards from Las Vegas, and it's one of the top nominees for next week's GDC Choice Awards as well.

More recently, it was announced that Naughty Dog's creative team is working in conjunction with Sam Raimi and Ghost House Pictures to bring The Last of Us to the silver screen. A sequel to the blockbuster game has not been confirmed, but Naughty Dog is definitely thinking about it.

2 Comments

Jamie Read
Junior 3D Artist

126 64 0.5
I'm glad to see ND reaping the rewards of their labour, 6 million sales on one platform is some achievement. The Last of Us is possibly the best game I have ever played, never before have I been so immersed in a game world and emotionally invested in the characters. Great sales and a ton of awards are more than deserved in my opinion.

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Jamie Read on 15th March 2014 10:30pm

Posted:5 months ago

#1

Kevin Clark-Patterson
Lecturer in Games Development

292 25 0.1
I bought my copy only last week, finally got around to it! :)

Posted:5 months ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now