Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Splinter Cell movie to star Tom Hardy

Splinter Cell movie to star Tom Hardy

Thu 15 Nov 2012 5:16am GMT / 12:16am EST / 9:16pm PST
Media

The face of Sam Fisher on the big screen has been chosen

According to a report by Variety, actor Tom Hardy has signed on to play Sam Fisher in the film adaptation of the Splinter Cell series. The film will be written by Eric Warren Singer, who also penned The International. Splinter Cell is not currently set up at any studio, but Ubisoft is in talking with Warner Bros and Paramount.

"Tom Hardy is currently one of the biggest talents in the film industry, and he has a phenomenal ability to take on complex and varied roles with his broad range of acting skills," said Jean-Julien Baronnet, CEO of Ubisoft Motion Pictures. "His involvement in the 'Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell' movie is exciting news for movie and video game fans alike. Meanwhile, Eric Singer is one of the most talented writers of the moment, and ... we're confident he'll bring a fresh approach and create a thrilling story ... while still respecting all the codes and traditions of the franchise that are so important to fans."

Splinter Cell is the second film adaptation planned by Ubisoft Motion Pictures. Actor Michael Fassbender is starring in the Assassin's Creed movie in production at New Regency and Fox.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now