Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

PS3 slim sells 150,000 to beat own launch record in Japan

Mon 07 Sep 2009 12:36pm GMT / 8:36am EDT / 5:36am PDT
RetailHardware

Sony out-performs its own launch in three days with slim console

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

The new slim PlayStation 3 has sold over 150,000 units in three days in Japan, marking its highest sales in the region to date.

According to the latest figures from Enterbrain, the console sold 150,252 slim units (150,832 units in total) during the period August 31 - September 6, reports Kotaku. Comparing the figures to Media Create data for the week prior, when the console sold just 1040 units, the increase marks a huge leap.

The slim console even outperforms the launch of the original PlayStation 3 when, due to shortage issues in the region, 88,000 consoles were sold in the first two days.

UK data revealed earlier today showed the new slimline console is performing similarly well here with a 999 per cent increase in sales recorded following last week's release.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now