Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Square-Enix revises forecasts upwards in advance of quarterlies

Square-Enix revises forecasts upwards in advance of quarterlies

Fri 09 May 2014 2:13pm GMT / 10:13am EDT / 7:13am PDT
Publishing

Sales of FFXIV push publisher towards profits

Square-enix has issued a statement which revises the company's financial forecasts upwards in advance of Monday's full year financial report.

Previously, the publisher had expected a bottom line which rested somewhere between 3.5 billion and six billion Yen profit, but the new forecast pins the expectations quite firmly at 6.6 billion Yen profit, raising hopes considerably. Sales forecasts have been revised upwards from 140-150 billion Yen to a hard 155 billion.

The revision was largely attributed to better than expected sales of Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn, but mobile title Dragon Quest Monsters: Super Light was also a major contributor, with Tomb Raider Definitive Edition also getting a mention.

2 Comments

Jim Burns
Research Asisstant

44 85 1.9
Square still has a lot to prove with every gamer.

Posted:4 months ago

#1

Steve Wetz
Reviewer/Assistant Editor

213 529 2.5
@Jim,

You said it! Between the ;last few Final Fantasy games, and their practice of essentially pricing themselves out of the mobile market, Square-Enix has come a long way from the Squaresoft I used to know and love. It's hard to fathom that the same company that gave us Final Fantasies IV-X and the original STILL AWESOME Super Mario RPG has fallen so far.

Here's hoping they get back to their roots. That'll fix the profit margin real quick.

Posted:4 months ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now