If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

E3 2018: Watch the PlayStation press conference here

Sony has an embarrassment of riches to show, including The Last of Us II, Spider-Man, Dreams and Death Stranding. Watch it drop the mic at 18:00 PST / 02:00 BST

Heading into E3, PlayStation's executives may well have focused their E3 preparations on various ways of theatrically dropping the mic. The PlayStation 4 was so far ahead in terms of sales, and its exclusive games were so much better than those on the Xbox One, that 'winning' E3 may have appeared little more than a formality.

In the aftermath of the Xbox press briefing, however, in which Microsoft took confident strides towards laying the doubts about its first-party strategy to rest, Sony will need a stellar display of strength to win the day. Fortunately, it has Naughty Dog's The Last of Us II, Insomniac's Spider-Man, Kojima Productions' Death Stranding and Media Molecule's Dreams to use as a foundation, along with whichever third-party developers decide to hitch their wagons to the industry's leading console platform.

Sony may not have acquired four new studios, but this year's E3 should be a reminder that's because it really doesn't need to.

The fun starts at 18:00 PST / 21:00 EST / 02:00 BST (Tuesday) / 11:00 AEST (Tuesday).

Twitch

Author

Matthew Handrahan avatar

Matthew Handrahan

Editor-in-Chief

Matthew Handrahan joined GamesIndustry in 2011, bringing long-form feature-writing experience to the team as well as a deep understanding of the video game development business. He previously spent more than five years at award-winning magazine gamesTM.

More News

Latest Articles