Sections

Ubisoft acquires free-to-play mobile dev Kolibri Games

Idle Miner Tycoon to strengthen Ubisoft's idle game portfolio

Ubisoft has acquired a controlling stake in Berlin-based mobile developer Kolibri Games.

Formerly known as Fluffy Fairy Games, the studio was founded in 2016 and now boasts around 100 staff; it is best-known for Idle Miner Tycoon, which has been downloaded over 104 million times.

Ubisoft has taken a 75% share of Kolibri, with the option to raise its stake to 100% over the next four years.

"We are strengthening our 'idle' games portfolio with the acquisition of Kolibri Games," said executive director of mobile Jean-Michel Detoc. "One of the leaders in the segment, whose flagship game Idle Miner Tycoon has grown steadily since 2016.

"We are delighted that this great talented team, recognized for the longevity of their flagship title, is joining Ubisoft."

The move also sees Ubisoft strengthening its presence in Berlin, after it opened a development studio in the city nearly three years ago.

Kolibri Games' CEO Daniel Stammler said the deal "marks a high point in the history of our young company" and will enable it to expand development.

More stories

Changing Channels explores how Gary Whitta turned Animal Crossing into a TV show

Rogue One writer Gary Whitta shares the origins, ambitions and successes of his show, Animal Talking, at 6pm BST / 1pm ET / 10am PT

By Marie Dealessandri

Paradox posts record Q2 revenue and profits

"We leave an operational as well as financially successful quarter behind us," says CEO

By Haydn Taylor

Latest comments

Sign in to contribute

Need an account? Register now.