Sections

E3 2018: Watch the Nintendo Direct here

What does Nintendo have in store for the Switch's second year? Find out here at 09:00 PST / 17:00 BST

Having been the belle of the ball in 2017 with the Switch launch -- and accompanying slew of solid first-party releases -- Nintendo hasn't been able to make quite the same impact this year.

Until yesterday's uninspired conference from Sony, it looked as though Nintendo would have by far the least on display of the three platform holders.

While Microsoft showed promise with the announcement it acquired four new studios, it's exclusive line-up is looking increasingly tired whereas Nintendo's original properties still feel fresh and exciting. On top of that, it would only take one surprise announcement to drum up the kind of excitement Sony's offering so desperately lacked.

But Nintendo will, as ever, insist on doing its own thing. How that pans out exactly remains to be seen, but with the promise of Pokémon, Bayonetta, and Super Smash Bros. it's looking like a crowd pleaser.

The conference kicks off at 09:00 PST / 12:00 EST / 17:00 BST / 02:00 AEST (Wednesday)

Related stories

Nintendo and Microsoft unite against Sony with Minecraft cross-platform play

"Better together" say newfound allies in the face on Sony's cross-platform reluctance

By Haydn Taylor

New security measure from Nintendo 'perfectly prevents' digital piracy on the Switch

Platform holder permanently bans consoles with pirated games following reveal of unpatchable hardware exploit

By Haydn Taylor

Latest comments

There are no comments on this article yet. Why not be the first to post one?

Sign in to contribute

Need an account? Register now.