Rise of the Tomb Raider wins Writers Guild award

Crystal Dynamics' sequel beat The Witcher 3, Pillars of Eternity and Assassin's Creed: Syndicate

Crystal Dynamics' Rise of the Tomb Raider is this year's winner of the Writers Guild of America's "Outstanding Achievement in Video Game Writing" award.

The Xbox One console exclusive, which was co-published by Square Enix and Microsoft, was chosen ahead of fellow nominees The Witcher 3, Pillars of Eternity and Assassin's Creed: Syndicate. Four people were named on the award: lead narrative designer John Stafford, narrative designer Cameron Suey, lead writer Rhianna Pratchett, and additional writer Philip Gelatt.

Rise of the Tomb Raider was launched in November last year to widespread acclaim. Sales were notably weaker than its predecessor, Tomb Raider, which sold almost 3.5 million units in its first month, and passed 8.5 million units in April last year.

Microsoft acknowledged that Rise of the Tomb Raider sold "well over 1 million units" last month, but Square Enix said only that it made a "solid" start in a recent call with investors.

Rise of the Tomb Raider is also leading the nominations at the DICE Awards, which will be handed out later this week.

Related stories

Crystal Dynamics opening Washington studio

Bellevue-based Crystal Northwest formed with Wargaming Seattle veterans, set to work on tech development for upcoming Avengers game

By Brendan Sinclair

Tomb Raider creative director steps down to join indie developer

Milham had been with Crystal Dynamics just over a year before joining Outpost Games

By Haydn Taylor

Latest comments

Sign in to contribute

Need an account? Register now.