Dare to be Digital expands with government support

Iceland and Finland to send first teams to Scottish student design competition

Investment from the Scottish government will see this year's Dare to be Digital competition able to attract its first contestants from Finland and Iceland.

Students from Norway, Denmark, Sweden, China and India are already scheduled to take part in the University of Abertay's annual game design competition, which has received £85,700 towards its 2011 programme from the Scottish government.

As usual the three winners of the contest will be shortlisted for the BAFTA One to Watch award, with last year's grand prize winner having been announced last week at the gala awards ceremony.

"Scottish creativity and our great strengths in the computer games industry are internationally-renowned.Through our Creative Industries Strategy, we intend to build on that reputation and on the talent that already exists in Scotland in order to secure economic growth," said culture minister Fiona Hyslop.

"The world-class educational provision available at Abertay University and the international scope of Dare to be Digital are making an important contribution to Scotland's global reputation and the success of our creative industries sector," she added.

"Dare to be Digital is an incredible opportunity for game design professionals just starting out on their career to learn all about the industry, meet world-leading business people, and benefit from the internationally recognised games education offered at Abertay University," said Dr Louis Natanson, academic director of the Institute of Arts, Media and Computer Games at Abertay University.

Applications for the competition are open until April 3, with further information available at the official website.

Related stories

Dare to be Digital 2012 applications open

First stage of acclaimed game design competition goes live for students

By Matt Martin

Dare to be Digital winners crowned

Digital Knights, Evolved Ape and Swallowtail teams will compete for BAFTA "Ones To Watch" award

By Matthew Handrahan

Latest comments

Sign in to contribute

Need an account? Register now.