Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Zynga opens new studio in India

Wed 17 Feb 2010 3:57pm GMT / 10:57am EST / 7:57am PST
OnlineDevelopment

Company expands to capture growing online market

Social games developer Zynga is to open a new studio in India as it expands its business into the region.

The company hopes to bring hit titles such as FarmVille, Mafia Wars and Cafe World to local players, where research by the Internet & Mobile Association of India has shown that 41 per cent of internet users played online games in 2008 up 89 per cent on the previous year.

"Social gaming combines the best of web technical talent with game storytelling," said Zynga CEO Mark Pincus. "India offers some of the worlds most sophisticated and rich technical talent bases and we are thrilled to have a local presence."

India is projected to become the third largest online market by 2013, behind China and the US.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now