Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Zynga Japan founded

Fri 30 Jul 2010 8:00am GMT / 4:00am EDT / 1:00am PDT
Business

New studio is a partnership with Tokyo's Softbank, following $150m investment

FarmVille developer Zynga's latest move towards expansion is the founding of a new Japanese studio.

Zynga Japan is a joint endeavour between the San Francisco-based studio and Japanese media and communications firm Softbank.

Softbank last month invested $147 million in Zynga, and following the completion of this backing the two firms have formed a more active partnership in Tokyo - Zynga's first move into the Japanese market.

"We're excited to partner with Softbank to bring Zynga's social games to Japan and gain insights from the Japanese market," said Zynga CEO Mark Pincus.

"As one of the most innovative technology companies in the world, Softbank is bringing the mobile internet to consumers making the social web more accessible to people everywhere."

Google CEO Eric Schmidt recently confirmed that the search giant would be also be announcing a partnership with Zynga soon, following its own $100 million investment in the social game developer.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now