Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Zynga inks games deal with Yahoo!

Thu 27 May 2010 7:08am GMT / 3:08am EDT / 12:08am PDT
BusinessOnline

New partnership will allow Zynga to reach 600m users across Yahoo's web, messenger, games and mail services

Mafia Wars and Farmville creator Zynga has inked a deal with Yahoo! to integrate games across its global network, including its homepage, games, mail and messenger services.

Yahoo! claims the deal will allow Zynga to reach over 600 million users, as the social games business continues to expand its network across the web.

"Yahoo! is focused on providing compelling, personally relevant experiences and social games are core to this experience, said Hilary Schneider, executive vice president, Yahoo Americas.

"Zynga will bring top notch social game experiences to Yahoo!, including through our open platforms such as Yahoo! Application Platform and Yahoo! Updates. Yahoo! will also continue to work with other partners, developers and publishers to bring compelling innovations and experiences from across the web to our users."

Zynga recently signed a new five-year deal with Facebook, and also provides games to MSN and MySpace, as well as releasing games for the iPhone.

"With over 35 million unique users playing our games every single day, social games are fast becoming a leading source of entertainment worldwide surpassing most television shows," added Mark Pincus, CEO of Zynga. "Our partnership with Yahoo! gives millions of new users the ability to connect with friends and families through games."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now