Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Zoo picks up Empire publishing rights

Thu 07 May 2009 3:13pm GMT / 11:13am EDT / 8:13am PDT
BusinessPublishing

US publisher licenses rights to portfolio of IP including FlatOut, PipeMania and Big Mutha Truckers

Zoo Publishing has bought the rights to license, publish and distribute games previously held by defunct UK publisher Empire Interactive.

The agreement allows Zoo Publishing the ability to re-release previous Empire titles, to port previously released games to new platforms, and to create new gaming content from existing Empire intellectual property.

"I am incredibly excited about the prospects of remaking some of the Empire IP, bringing others online, and generating revenue from the current titles," commented Mark Seremet, CEO of Zoo Games

"Empire distributed my first company's software in the EU back in the 1980s and while I'm sad to see this economic environment take its toll on Empire, I'm grateful for the opportunity to partner with New World IP to continue the company's franchises."

New World IP bought the rights to Empire titles after the publisher fell into administration this week, and has since stuck a deal with the New York-based Zoo Publishing.

Franchises developed and published by Empire included FlatOut, Big Mutha Truckers and PipeMania.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now