Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

ZeniMax raised $105 million for id acquisition

Wed 08 Jul 2009 7:42am GMT / 3:42am EDT / 12:42am PDT
Business

Bethesda parents adds more financing to secure Doom creators

Bethesda Softworks

The Bethesda Softworks division, founded in 1986, has a long history of success as a developer and publisher...

bethsoft.com

ZeniMax Media, parent company of Fallout publisher Bethesda, raised USD 105 million in debt financing for the acquisition of id Software.

That's according to a SEC filing, following the swoop for the Doom developer in June.

The filing did not reveal who the lenders were or whether the USD 105 million was the exact price of the deal.

Zenimax raised USD 300 million in 2007, and further USD 9.9 million the following year, as it continues to grow its videogame business.

Bethesda's European managing director Sean Brennan recently told GamesIndustry.biz that although it has raised significant financing, its investors are not looking for a quick return.

"They take a long-term view of it. It's not just a question of that, because they are pleased that we're making a profit and that's one of the most important things," he said.

"They're not looking for any kind of minimum growth rate or anything like that, they chose to invest in us because they believed in the product vision, in the quality, and they're not about to try and curtail that for short-term reporting issues."

1 Comment

Rupert Loman
Founder & CEO

139 45 0.3
Weird coincidence? $105m was the exact amount they turned down from Activision a few years ago I think.

Posted:5 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now