Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

ZeniMax obtains $300 million investment

Thu 25 Oct 2007 7:13pm GMT / 3:13pm EDT / 12:13pm PDT

ZeniMax Media has announced the closing of a USD 300 million investment by Providence Equity Partners Inc. for convertible preferred stock of the Company

Bethesda Softworks

The Bethesda Softworks division, founded in 1986, has a long history of success as a developer and publisher...

bethsoft.com

ZeniMax Media has announced the closing of a USD 300 million investment by Providence Equity Partners Inc. for convertible preferred stock of the Company.

The proceeds of the investment will be used to fund future growth, increase game development and publishing, facilitate acquisitions, and finance massively multiplayer online games.

"We believe that Providence will be an ideal partner for us as we build our businesses worldwide in the years ahead," said ZeniMax chairman and CEO Robert A. Altman.

"Providence shares our strategic vision for the Company and is excited by the opportunity to help us move into a position of leadership in this industry."

ZeniMax's wholly owned subsidiary, Bethesda Softworks, released The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion and will soon release Fallout 3.

Michael Dominguez, a managing director of Providence, will join ZeniMax Media's Board of Directors, which currently includes the president and CEO of CBS, the chairman and CEO of Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Inc., and the president of Trump Management.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now