Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Yoshida: PlayStation 3 is breaking even

Tue 29 Jun 2010 3:43pm GMT / 11:43am EDT / 8:43am PDT
BusinessHardware

Over three years since launch, "we aren't bleeding like we used to" says SCE boss

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony's worldwide studio boss Shuhei Yoshida has said that the PlayStation 3 is no longer being sold at a loss, over three years after the hardware was first released.

Back in 2006, analyst firm iSuppli suggested that Sony was losing over $300 on the 20GB PlayStation 3 unit, and over $240 on the high-end 60GB model.

At the end of last the same company still found the PS3 to be selling at a loss, although it did suggest it was on the brink of profitability.

"This year is the first time that we are able to cover the cost of the PlayStation 3," said Yoshida in an interview with IGN. "We aren't making huge money from hardware, but we aren't bleeding like we used to."

The exec also reiterated that Sony would not be cutting the cost of the home console any time this year, and is still working hard to meet demand at retail.

"When we bring the cost of hardware down, we are looking at opportunities to adjust prices if we believe that will increase demand At the moment, we are trying to catch up our production."

1 Comment

Doug Abramson Programmer (C/C++/Embedded Linux)

16 0 0.0
great news. sony deserves it. i really like my ps3 as it doubles being a blu ray player. great value for the price!

Posted:4 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now