Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Xbox Sky Player pulled on "technical issue"

Tue 27 Oct 2009 7:26pm GMT / 3:26pm EDT / 12:26pm PDT
OnlineMediaPublishing

Much-anticipated launch is pushed back a day; engineers "hard at work"

Microsoft has pulled the much-anticipated Sky Player from the Xbox 360's interface following an "unforeseen technical issue," with hopes that it will re-launch tomorrow instead.

The service, which will enable users - at some point - to watch a combination of live TV channels and content on-demand, originally went live at 10am today, but has now been suspended.

"The Sky Player on Xbox 360 service did successfully launch early this morning, it has subsequently been suspended due to an unforeseen technical issue," read a statement from the publisher. "With so much excitement and interest in the service, we'd much prefer to ensure that our customers enjoy the highest possible quality of service.

"We would like to take this opportunity to apologise to our customers who have attempted to access the service today. Sky Player engineers are hard at work to resolve the problem - we expect to have the full service available tomorrow."

Full details of what should be available tomorrow are available in the original story published by GamesIndustry.biz

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now