Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Xbox Live Arcade sales tripled since NXE, says Microsoft

Thu 11 Dec 2008 11:24am GMT / 6:24am EST / 3:24am PST
Hardware

Microsoft's Major Nelson offers statistics following the release of its update to the online service

Microsoft's Major Nelson has published statistics on Microsoft's New Xbox Experience, highlighting that sales on XBLA almost tripled the week of the revamped service's launch.

In addition to this, Avatar specific titles, such as A Kingdom for Kelfings, saw the second-best first week sales ever, alongside UNO which saw an increase in sales of 650 per cent in one day upon being updated to include in-game Avatars.

Movie downloads on the console increased 49 per cent and TV episode downloads were also up 30 per cent the week after the NXE launch.

Xbox Live was revealed to have over 14 million members, with the average number of unique visitors climbing each day by 66 per cent over the past year. The global Live service has 45 network and studio partners, including Netflix, offering 30,00 movies, TV episodes and music videos.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now