Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Xbox claims over 60 per cent of US GTA IV sales

Thu 08 May 2008 7:58am GMT / 3:58am EDT / 12:58am PDT
Retail

Microsoft claims an advantage over Sony and says the game is boosting its console sales by as much as 54 per cent

Microsoft has released data claiming that the majority of GTA IV sales in North America in its first week of sale were for the Xbox 360 platform.

The game, which sold six million units worldwide in its first week alone, saw the Xbox 360 version account for more than 60 per cent of sales.

The figures from Microsoft also attribute a 54 per cent week-over-week rise in Xbox 360 console sales to GTA's success.

Microsoft in the UK has said retailers have reported a strong attach rate between the game and console sales, claiming that 40 per cent of new consoles are selling with a copy of GTA IV.

"Grand Theft Auto IV has done phenomenally well this week with Xbox 360 version outselling PS3 in our stores," said Gerry Berkley, trading manager at Woolworths.

"Xbox 360 console sales have seen a big uplift off the back of Grand Theft Auto IV launching. It's clear our customers see Xbox 360 as a great console for this incredible game."

Data released by Chart-Track shows that GTA IV shot to the top of the UK charts outselling the nearest title, Wii Fit, by 9 to 1. Of those GTA IV copies sold in the UK, 514,000 were for the Xbox 360, while 413,000 were for the PS3.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now