Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Xbox 360 passes 28 million units sold

Fri 16 Jan 2009 7:35am GMT / 2:35am EST / 11:35pm PST
Retail

Microsoft now claims to lead the PlayStation by 8 million globally

Following the announcement of NPD results for December, Microsoft has revealed that its internal figures show the Xbox 360 has now sold 28 million units worldwide, which while significantly short of the Nintendo Wii's performance, according to the publisher puts it ahead of the PlayStation 3 by 8 million units.

The company is also claiming that while the lead in the US is 7 million, it's now beating its Sony rival by around 1 million unit sales in the hotly-contested European region.

Meanwhile the company also revealed that according to the NPD data the total lifetime spending on the Xbox 360 has now hit USD 13.2 billion, compared to USD 10.8 billion for the Wii and USD 6.1 billion for the PS3.

Additionally, according to internal data, Xbox Live passed 17 million active members, hit 1.5 million concurrent players and recorded over 10 billion hours since launch.

"Our goal for 2008 was to reach new audiences by bringing ground-breaking games and entertainment to Xbox 360," said Don Mattrick, senior VP at Microsoft's Interactive Entertainment Business. "Looking forward, new waves of innovation will extend our position as the global leader in interactive entertainment."

The full December NPD results run-down is available now.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now