Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Xbox 360, Nvidia chips boost Semiconductor profits

Tue 29 Apr 2008 8:49am GMT / 4:49am EDT / 1:49am PDT
Business

Graphics and Blu-ray tech help Taiwan company to largest profits in seven quarters

Xbox 360 and Nvidia graphics chips have helped manufacturer Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing to its largest profits for seven quarters, as the firm records Q1 profit of TWD 28.1 billion (USD 923.75 million / EUR 593.61 million).

According to Bloomberg, sales of chips for consumer electronics including Microsoft's Xbox 360 and Blu-ray DVD players climbed 35 per cent and accounted for 17 per cent of revenue.

Graphics chips, such as those used by partner Nvidia, saw the largest gain in sales, up 53 per cent from the previous year.

However, future gains for the company in these sectors are likely to be offset by a fall in demand from the communication sector, as sales of the company's semiconductors for partners such as Nokia and Motorola remained static for the quarter, accounting for 42 per cent of total revenue.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now