Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

World of Warcraft

Thu 26 Jun 2008 3:26pm GMT / 11:26am EDT / 8:26am PDT

New device promising to make the game even safer.

Blizzard Entertainment, Inc. today introduced an optional extra layer of security for World of Warcraft, its award-winning massively multiplayer online role-playing game. Designed to attach to a keychain, the lightweight and waterproof Blizzard Authenticator is an electronic device that generates a six-digit security code at the press of a button. This code is unique, valid only once, and active for a limited time; it must be provided along with the account name and password when signing in to the World of Warcraft account linked to it.

This optional security measure will be available for a cost of 6.00 at the 2008 Blizzard Entertainment Worldwide Invitational, which takes place June 28-29 in Paris, France. In addition, the Blizzard Authenticator will be made available for purchase via Blizzard Entertainments European websites in the near future for a cost of 6.00 plus shipping.

Its important to us that World of Warcraft offers a safe and enjoyable game environment, said Mike Morhaime, CEO and cofounder of Blizzard Entertainment. One aspect of that is helping players avoid account compromise, so were pleased to make this additional layer of security available to them.

To learn more about the Blizzard Authenticator, please visit http://eu.blizzard.com/security-token/.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now