Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Woolworths refuses to comment on leaked 360 price cut details

Mon 15 Sep 2008 11:04am GMT / 7:04am EDT / 4:04am PDT
Retail

Retailer says catalogue is confidential until officially published in October

High Street retailer Woolworths has said that it will not comment on recent scans on the internet allegedly from the company's Christmas catalogue, and showing a price cut for all three Xbox 360 SKUs.

Images appeared last Friday which suggest the Microsoft console will be repriced in the UK at GBP 129.99 for the Arcade unit, 169.99 for the Premium unit and 229.99 for the Xbox 360 Elite.

However, the company said that it is working with various drafts of its latest Big Red Book, which all contain different prices, products and descriptions.

"Woolworths will not comment directly on the speculation that has appeared on various gaming websites as it is commercially sensitive information," said the company in a statement to GamesIndustry.biz.

"The Christmas 2008 Woolworths Big Red Book is not released until the first week of October and, until that date, remains a confidential document.

"There are several draft editions in existence, with prices, products and descriptions varying dependent on the draft," said the retailer.

If such a price cut is looming, it is not yet known whether it will be an official cut by Microsoft, or a retail-led initiative.

Microsoft recently slashed the price of the console in the US, prompting a huge spike in sales.

1 Comment

Dan Webb Editor-in-Chief, Xbox 360 Achievements

5 0 0.0
We'll chalk this one down to another well kept Microsoft secret then?

Posted:6 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now