Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Wolfenstein multiplayer team axed on release day

Tue 18 Aug 2009 3:36pm GMT / 11:36am EDT / 8:36am PDT
Development

Endrant Studios lets staff go as latest title in franchise hits US stores

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

On the same day that Activision releases its latest title in the Wolfenstein franchise, GamesIndustry.biz can confirm that a number of the team responsible for the multiplayer portion of the game have been laid off.

UK based Endrant Studios had been co-developing Wolfenstein with Raven Software, and it was the first title by the team since forming in July 2008.

"We have recently completed a development cycle and have regrettably been forced to make adjustments to staff and headcounts," said a spokesperson for the studio.

"Those affected are valued members of our team who have worked incredibly hard on our latest title. We hope that they land on their feet quickly."

The spokesperson could not specify the exact number of redundancies at the 17-man team due to ongoing efforts to secure other work.

Wolfenstein for PC, Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 is released today in North America, and on Friday in Europe.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now