Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Wii Sports Resort sells over half a million in US

Thu 06 Aug 2009 8:10am GMT / 4:10am EDT / 1:10am PDT
Retail

Landmark hit within 8 days of release; game sells one every 1.5 seconds from launch

Over 500,000 copies of Wii Sports Resort were sold in the US during the game's first eight days on sale, according to Nintendo figures.

The game, which comes packaged with the new Wii MotionPlus accessory, reached the landmark figure on August 3, eight days after its US launch on July 26.

"Through Monday we sold one copy of Wii Sports Resort roughly every 1.5 seconds continuously since it launched in the United States," said Cammie Dunaway, Nintendo of America’s executive VP of sales & marketing. "This tells us consumers were eagerly waiting to get their hands on these fun activities, and it's a great start for a game that will have long-lasting appeal."

Since being released in the UK on July 24, the game has been at the top of the all-format chart with second week sales growing on first week ones by six per cent.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now