Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Wii Sports Resort sells over 600,000 copies in Europe

Fri 07 Aug 2009 10:12am GMT / 6:12am EDT / 3:12am PDT
Retail

Nintendo spokesperson confirms the figure, sold within two weeks of going on sale

Wii Sports Resort has sold more than 600,000 copies across Europe since its July 24 release, a Nintendo spokesperson has confirmed exclusively to GamesIndustry.biz.

The game achieved the sales number within just two weeks of going on sale. It has topped the UK all-formats chart for two weeks running, with first week sales making it the fourth biggest selling Wii title to date.

Second week sales also grew a further six per cent on that figure, according to Chart Track figures released earlier this week.

In the US, the Wii MotionPlus enhanced game sold half a million units within its first eight days on sale, while in Japan the game became the third fastest selling on Wii in the region, topping the software chart for two weeks and bumping up sales of Wii hardware in the process.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now