Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Wii sells 6 million in UK

Thu 03 Dec 2009 10:09am GMT / 5:09am EST / 2:09am PST
BusinessRetailPublishing

Console becomes fastest-selling in history, according to Nintendo

Nintendo's Wii home console has sold over six million units in the UK, GfK Chart Track has confirmed.

The console was launched in the region on December 8 2006, and passed the six million mark in the week ended November 28, making it the fastest-selling console in UK history, according to Nintendo.

"With its inclusive, family friendly and fun nature, were very pleased Wii seems to have captured the imagination of over six million families across the UK and reached such a landmark sales figure in such a short space of time," offered David Yarnton, UK MD for Nintendo.

"We'll work even harder to ensure that the interest in Wii stretches over months and years, appealing to people of all ages and gaming experience."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now