Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Wii sells 20 million units in US

Fri 12 Jun 2009 7:15am GMT / 3:15am EDT / 12:15am PDT
Retail

Nintendo's home console crosses the 20 million milestone in its 31st month on the market

Representatives from Nintendo of America have revealed that its popular Wii home console has surpassed sales figures of 20 million units in the United States.

The console's sales of 244,000 units in May - the Wii's thirty-first month on the market - put it over that milestone. According to Nintendo, it is the fastest selling console in US history.

"The continued enthusiastic consumer response to our products shows that Nintendo has something for everyone," said Nintendo of America executive vice president of sales and marketing Cammie Dunaway.

"For Nintendo, precision motion controls and social gaming are realities today," she added, in response to recent announcements from both Sony and Microsoft.

In the same statement, Nintendo broke down its Nintendo DS sales figures - as previously reported, the Nintendo DS sold a combined 633,500 units in May. According to Nintendo, 244,000 of those came from the DS Lite, while approximately 390,000 were from the newer model, the Nintendo DSi.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now